We hope you find this tutorial helpful. In addition to guides like this one, we provide simple cloud infrastructure for developers. Learn more →

How To Invite Your Web Developer to Set Up Your DigitalOcean Server

Posted Jun 9, 2015 17.9k views DigitalOcean


DigitalOcean is a Cloud hosting company that makes it easy for developers to build and host websites, applications, and projects. If you are working with a developer or designer to create your site or app, DigitalOcean teams make it easy to give your collaborators access to the technical resources they need without access to your billing information. You can invite new members simply by adding their email addresses and can remove team members easily when their time with you has ended.

In this guide, we'll show you how to set up a DigitalOcean account so that you can manage the billing and ownership profiles. We'll then show you how to invite the developers you are working with to your team so that they can create and manage resources for you.

Check out the video screencast that shows how to set up team accounts here.

What You Need to Get Started

To sign up for a DigitalOcean account and get started, you will need the following pieces of information:

  • Your email address (used to receive notifications and control the account)
  • Payment information (credit card or PayPal)
  • The email addresses of your developers and designers (to invite them to the team)

Once you have these pieces of information, you can go ahead and create your account.

Sign Up for a DigitalOcean Account

The first step towards giving your developers access to the resources they need is to sign up for an account on the DigitalOcean website. Follow this link to get to the main site:

Main DigitalOcean site

In the upper-right corner, click on the "Sign Up" link to sign up for a new account. On the next screen, enter your email address and a password you'd like to use to manage the account:

Email and password

Click "Sign Up" at the bottom to begin the account creation process. You will be redirected to the onboarding page:

Confirm email

Completing the Onboarding Process

The next step to getting your account up and running is to verify your email address. Check your email account for a message from DigitalOcean. Click on the link to verify your account. You will be redirected to a page to add your billing information:

enter billing

Here, you will need to add a credit card or a PayPal payment. This will allow the team members you invite to create servers and other resources under your account:

filled out billing

After filling out your billing information, the second part of the onboarding process is complete. You will be taken back to the onboarding flow page here:

second onboarding complete

Your account is now ready to create servers and other resources. You could do this yourself, but if you are working with technical collaborators, your teammates will probably handle that process. We can now invite them to the team to give them access.

Invite Collaborators to Your Team

To give your collaborators access to the account you have set up, you'll need to visit your settings page. You can access the settings by clicking at the gear icon in the upper-right corner of your user page and selecting "Settings":

DigitalOcean settings link

In the left-hand navigation menu that appears, click on the "Team" link:

DigitalOcean team link

You will see a link that will allow you to set up a team and invite the people you are working with to access your account:

DigitalOcean start team

Click on the "Invite Team Members" link. A screen will appear so that you to set up your team. Read the information on the page carefully so that you understand the access you are granting to your collaborators (you can always revoke this access later).

When you are ready, select a team name (you can change this later) and enter the email addresses of your developers and collaborators. You can always add additional team members later:

DigitalOcean set initial team

When you click "Send Invites" at the bottom, invites will be sent to all of the email addresses that you provided. You will be redirected to your newly created team page where you can manage all of the accounts associated with your team.

Your collaborators will need to confirm their email addresses in order to join your account. Until they confirm, their account will have a "Pending" status:

DigitalOcean member pending

Once they confirm, their status will change to "Joined":

DigitalOcean member joined

The members of your team will now be able to create resources within your account!

Managing Your Team

Any collaborator who is in the "member" role has the ability to create and destroy servers, change DNS records, and generally manage the technical side of your account. However, only your account (or those who you give "owner" privileges to) will have access to the team management and billing interfaces. As the team owner, your account has the most power.

We'll walk you through some common areas you will want to know about below. Most of these procedures will take place from the Team settings page that you've been using. You can always get to the team settings page by clicking on the gear menu in the upper-right corner and clicking "Settings". Select the "Team" item in the left-hand menu that appears.

Adding New Team Members

If you need to add additional team members to the account, click on the "Invite Members" button within your Team settings page:

invite more members

On the screen that appears, you will be able to add additional email addresses. Emails will be sent to these addresses with an invitation to join your team.

Removing a Team Member

If you no longer want a collaborator to have access to your account, you can remove them from the team. Find row with their email address on your team page and click on the blue gear icon on the far right side:

user settings

On the screen that appears, you can click the "Delete Member" button on the bottom to revoke their access to your account:

delete member

You will be asked to confirm your decision. Once you remove a user, they will no longer have access to your DigitalOcean account.

Keep in mind that removing someone from your DigitalOcean account will only revoke their ability to add and delete Droplets (servers). Make sure that you (or someone technical that you trust) checks for other logins too, like logins for individual servers and applications (like WordPress or Magento).

Adjusting the Team Profile

You can adjust the information about your team by editing your team profile. You can do this by clicking on the "Edit Team Profile" button within your team page:

edit profile

On the screen that appears, you will have the option of changing your team name, email address, phone number and physical address.

update info

Invoices will be sent to the email address given for the team. The physical address and phone number that you choose will appear on the invoices.

Changing User Roles

If you need another account to have access to the billing and team management functions, you can elevate that account to the "owner" role.

Owner accounts have complete control over the team. They can adjust billing information, delete team members, and can even remove you from the account. Make sure to only give ownership abilities to people you trust.

To give a user ownership privileges, find their email address in the "Members" section of your team page and click on the blue gear icon on the far right side:

user settings

On the screen that appears, select "Owner" from the "Members' Role" drop-down menu:

choose owner

Next, click on the "Update Role" button to apply your changes:

update role

The user you have modified will now have complete administrative access to your team.

Deleting a Team

If you wish to delete your team, you will first have to destroy or transfer all of the resources associated with the team. All of your servers (Droplets) must be removed to proceed.

Once all of your team's resources have been destroyed, click on the "Delete Team" button at the bottom of the team management page:

delete team button

You will be asked to confirm the deletion in another screen:

confirm deletion

After deleting the team, all of your team account data will be removed.


You should now know everything that you need to invite people to create servers and resources within your DigitalOcean account. This allows you handle the billing and team management while letting your technical collaborators manage your servers. To find out more about working with teams on DigitalOcean, click here.

If you feel that this guide could benefit from additional information, please leave a comment below.


Creative Commons License