European Union Tax Help

European Union: Value Added Tax (VAT)

DigitalOcean is required to charge VAT (value added taxes) on sales to non-business European Union customers. All VAT collected from customers in the European Union will be paid to the tax authority of the appropriate EU member state. You can access your VAT charges on your monthly invoice by visiting your account’s Billing Page. DigitalOcean is registered for EU VAT under the Electronically Supplied Services (ESS) simplified VAT registration regime.

If you are a registered business established inside of the EU, you may enter your VAT ID on your Billing page.Upon verifying your VAT number, VAT will not be applied to future monthly invoices. However, registered business may be required to manually account for this tax. If you do not see the VAT ID field on your billing page and you are an EU resident, please open a support ticket and we will help you right away.

Applicable VAT Rates The following table lists the VAT rates as of January 1, 2015 that may be charged to European Union customers. Please note, prices listed on the DigitalOcean website do not include applicable VAT charges.

Country Value Added Tax (VAT) and Goods & Service Tax (GST)
Austria 20%
Belgium 21%
Bulgaria 20%
Croatia 25%
Cyprus 19%
Czech Republic 21%
Denmark 25%
Estonia 20%
Finland 24%
France & Monaco 20%
Germany 19%
Great Britain & Northern Ireland 20%
Greece 24%
Hungary 27%
Ireland (Eire) 23%
Italy 22%
Latvia 21%
Lithuania 21%
Luxembourg 17%
Malta 18%
Netherlands 21%
Poland 23%
Portugal 23%
Romania 19%
Slovakia 20%
Slovenia 22%
Spain 21%
Sweden 25%


The following (member) states or (independent) regions of member states are excluded from VAT charges.

  • Andorra
  • The Channel Islands(United Kingdom)
  • Gibraltar
  • Mount Athos
  • San Marino
  • Vatican City
  • Ceuta, Melilla and the Canary Islands (Spain)
  • The communes of Livigno, Campione d’Italia and the Italian waters of Lake Lugano (Italy)
  • Büsingen and the Isle of Heligoland (Germany)
  • Guadeloupe, Martinique, Réunion, St. Pierre and Miquelon, and French Guiana (France)
  • Faroe Islands and Greenland (Denmark)
  • Åland Islands(Finland)