Canada Tax Information

Goods & Service Tax (GST) and Harmonized Sales Tax (HST)

On October 1, 2015, DigitalOcean began charging tax on sales to Canadian customers. You can access your tax charges on your monthly invoice by visiting your Billing page.

Some Canadian businesses may be able to claim a refund on taxes paid. Visit the CRA’s official FAQ for more information.

The following table lists the tax rates as of January 1, 2015 that may be charged to Canadian customers in each province or territory. Prices listed on the DigitalOcean website do not include applicable VAT charges.

Province or Territory GST / HST
Alberta 5% GST
British Columbia 5% GST
Manitoba 5% GST
New Brunswick 13% HST
Newfoundland 13% HST
Northwest Territories 5% GST
Nova Scotia 15% HST
Nunavut 5% GST
Ontario 13% HST
Prince Edward Island 14% HST
Quebec 5% GST
Saskatchewan 5% GST
Yukon 5% GST


How is my tax location determined?

Tax location is determined by the origin of the last credit card added. This is the location returned by DigitalOcean’s credit card processor for the given card (not the user entered location).

For PayPal users, tax location is determined by the location returned by PayPal for the last payment.

How can I change my tax location?

You can change your tax location by adding a payment card with a different location origin or by making a PayPal payment with an updated location.

You may also contact support.

Why is my invoice in USD? Can I get an invoice in another currency?

Because USD is currently the only currency we can accept for payments, all invoices are in USD. We cannot provide invoices in other currencies.