Team Quickstart

DigitalOcean teams let multiple users access and manage shared resources (like Droplets, DigitalOcean Load Balancers, and Spaces) without sharing login credentials or billing information.

To follow along, you will need a DigitalOcean account. If you don’t already have one, you can register on the sign up page.

Create Teams

  1. From the control panel, open the user profile drop-down menu by clicking the arrow in the top right next to your avatar, then click Create a team.

If you don’t see the Create a team button, make sure your account has a valid payment method, then refresh the page.

  1. On the Create a team page, enter a team name and contact email. Optionally, you can move your account’s existing resources into the team or require secure-sign in. Click Create Team.

  2. On the next billing method page, choose a payment method. Either select an existing card on your account or click Add New Card, then click Select Credit Card.

  3. On the final Invite team members page, invite users to the team by email address or Gmail contacts, then click Invite Team Members. You can choose to skip this step until later.

After the team is created, click Visit Team Page to view the new team.

Add Team Members

Team owners can invite new members to a team.

  1. From the control panel, in the Account section, click Team.

  2. In the Members section, click Invite Members.

  3. Enter the email addresses of the members you want to invite or click Invite Gmail Contacts, then click Invite Team Members.

The status of each invited member is listed in the Members section as either Joined or Pending. There is no limit to the number of members a team can have.

Modify Team Roles

Team owners can change the roles of other team members.

  1. From the control panel, in the Account section, click Team.

  2. In the Members section, click the More menu of the member you want to modify, then click Change role.

  3. In the Change role menu, select the new role you want the member to have: owner, biller, or member.

The role of each team member is listed in the Members section.

Require Secure Sign-In

Team owners can require that all team members sign in with Google, GitHub, or DigitalOcean two-factor authentication.

  1. From the control panel, in the Account section, click Team.

  2. In the Secure sign-in section, click Enable to open the secure sign-in settings.

  3. Click the checkbox for Require secure sign-in, then click Save.

Deactivate Teams

Team owners can deactivate a team, which removes control panel and API access for all team members and removes the team.

  1. First, remove all resources associated with the team, like Droplets, Spaces, and domains.

  2. From the control panel, in the Account section, click Team.

  3. Click Edit Team Profile and, in the window that opens, click Deactivate team.

  4. In the Deactivate team window that opens, confirm the deactivation.

Once a team is deactivated, you can reuse its name to create a new team.