DigitalOcean Managed Databases handle outages and software failures automatically on your behalf by replacing affected nodes with new ones that resume directly from the point of failure. Manual restoration with the backup feature is designed specifically to protect you when data is accidentally destroyed by your application or your database administrator.
Backups are automatically created once per day, with a 7-day retention period. Backups do not result in downtime or performance degradation, and the time of day at which they run is set automatically by DigitalOcean and cannot be changed.
When you restore from a backup, we create a new copy of your cluster’s primary node. You cannot restore directly into the primary node itself because this creates alternative timelines for the database that introduce unwarranted complexity in a managed service. By restoring into a new primary node, a single linear timeline history is preserved.
To restore from a backup, click the name of the database you wish to restore, then navigate to its Backups page. From here, locate the day you want to restore from, open its More menu, and choose Restore.
If you cannot select Restore, it means that you have hit the limit of database clusters for the account or team. You can delete a cluster or contact our support team for a limit increase.
By default, the database will be given the same name as the original, with the date of the backup and the word “backup” appended. However this can be customized at your discretion. When you’re ready, click Restore to New to begin the restoration. The length of time will vary depending on the amount of data.
Destroying a database cluster will destroy the backups of that database. Make sure you’ve downloaded any important data before you destroy.