Sign up for a DigitalOcean Account

If you haven’t already signed up for an account, this is the place to begin.

Sign-Up

Visit the sign up page, where you’ll have a choice between entering an email address and password or using Google Single Sign-On. If you choose to use an email address and password, you will need to verify your email address using the email automatically sent to you. If you choose Google Single Sign-On, you do not need to verify your email address.

Account Verification

Account verification is automatic and happens usually within 30 days of opening and using your account. After you become a verified user, you will be able to manually charge your credit card by using the Pay now button on your billing page.

Droplet and Volume Limit Increases

Once your account is verified, we will periodically increase your Droplet limit. You can also view your account or team’s Droplet limit and request an increase from your account settings page. After reviewing your request, we’ll be able to update your limit.

Before your account is verified, you will be able to create volumes up to 1TB in size. After your account is verified, you will be able to create volumes of any available size.

Multiple Accounts

If you need multiple accounts, we recommend looking into team accounts and projects. Teams let you invite multiple users to access and manage shared resources without sharing login credentials or billing information. Projects let you organize your resources into groups that fit the way you work, like aligning with the applications, environments, clients, or projects that you host on DigitalOcean.

Account Cancellation

You can cancel your account from the Settings page by clicking Deactivate Account. Before you can completely deactivate an account, you’ll need to destroy its active Droplets and resolve any outstanding billing.