DigitalOcean Home

How to Create and Delete Spaces Using the Control Panel

When you create your first Space, your Spaces subscription automatically starts. It will automatically end when you delete all of your Spaces.

Each Space you create within your account will have its own URL and can be used as a logical unit for segmenting content.

Create a Space

You can create a Space at any time from the Create menu by selecting Spaces.

Create menu

Whichever link you use, you’ll be taken to the Create a Space page. From here, you need to Choose a unique name for your Space, Choose a datacenter region, Manage Access for your new Space, and Select a project.

Screenshot of Create a Space screen

The name of the Space makes up part of its endpoint URL and cannot be changed once it is created. Names must:

  • Be unique among all users in all regions. If the name you choose is already in use, a message will appear which says Space already exists.
  • Be between 3 and 63 characters long.
  • Contain only lowercase letters, numbers, and dashes.
  • Begin with a letter or number.

The datacenter region you choose will also become part of a Space’s endpoint URL. See regional availability for Spaces for more information on the available options.

Finally, the access level of a Space affects the visibility of the Space’s file listing, but has no effect on the visibility of the files themselves. Access is set to Private by default and you can change this at any time. See Manage File Listing Permissions for more information.

After you click Create a Space, you’ll be taken directly to the new Space’s Files tab, where the files and folders in its root will be displayed.

Screenshot of the Spaces index screen

When you have created at least one Space, the Spaces link in the main navigation bar of the Spaces page will display all of your Spaces.

After creation, the Settings page of a Space displays its Endpoint value, which is used to configure third-party clients. The Index page displays its name, size, and creation date.

Delete a Space

From the Settings page of your Space, in the Destroy this space section, you can permanently Destroy the Space and all of its contents.

Screenshot of the Settings tab

Your Spaces plan will automatically stop when you delete your last Space. When you have no Spaces remaining, you’ll have the opportunity to leave feedback.

If you delete all of your Spaces during your trial period, your trial will be paused. You can resume your trial at any time by creating a new Space. You can see how many days are remaining in the trial period by following the Spaces link from the main navigation and selecting the Settings tab.