How to Delete or Detach Volumes

To remove a volume from a Droplet, you can either delete or detach the volume.

  • Detaching a volume removes the volume from its current Droplet. You can attach the volume and all of its contents to a different Droplet as needed.
  • Deleting a volume permanently destroys the volume and its contents. This action cannot be reversed.

Before doing either of these actions, unmount the volume to make sure it’s not in use to avoid operating system errors.

You can detach or delete a volume on either the Droplet-specific menu or on the account-level Volumes page, in the volume’s More menu:

Droplet volumes menu item

If you select Detach, you can then attach the volume to a different Droplet as needed.

If you select Delete, you’ll be prompted to confirm the deletion.

When you delete a volume, the volume and its contents will be completely deleted. This action is irreversible.

Droplet delete volume menu item

Click Confirm to delete the volume.