How to Delete Volumes

To remove a volume from a Droplet, you can either detach the volume or delete the volume.

  • Detaching a volume removes the volume from its current Droplet. You can attach the volume and all of its contents to a different Droplet as needed.
  • Deleting a volume permanently destroys the volume and its contents. This action cannot be reversed.

Before deleting a volume, unmount it to prevent data loss.

You can delete a volume from the volume’s More menu, which is available on the account-level Volumes page.

Volumes more menu

When you select Delete, a window to confirm the deletion opens.

Delete volume confirmation window
Warning
When you delete a volume, the volume and its contents will be completely deleted. This action is irreversible.

Click Confirm to delete the volume.