How to Detach Volumes

To remove a volume from a Droplet, you can either detach the volume or delete the volume.

  • Detaching a volume removes the volume from its current Droplet. You can attach the volume and all of its contents to a different Droplet as needed.
  • Deleting a volume permanently destroys the volume and its contents. This action cannot be reversed.

Before detaching a volume, unmount it to avoid data loss.

You can detach a volume from the volume’s More menu, which is available on the account-level Volumes page.

Volumes more menu

Select Detach from Droplet to detach the volume. You can then attach the volume to a different Droplet as needed.

If you detach an auto-mounted volume, you should also delete the corresponding systemd config file from the Droplet, which is at /etc/systemd/system/mnt-volume_*.mount.