How to Move Volumes between Droplets

You can move volumes from one Droplet to another within the same region by detaching and reattaching it. A volume can only be attached to one Droplet at a time.

Between Droplets in the Same Region

To move a volume between Droplets in the same region, you’ll first need to detach the volume from the current Droplet and then reattach it to the new Droplet. You can do both actions from the account-level Volumes page.

When your volume is attached to a Droplet, information about the Droplet will be visible in the Droplet column. To detach it, first make sure the volume is not being written to by unmounting it or powering down the Droplet. Then, in the Volume’s More menu, choose the Detach option.

Screenshot of one attached  and one detached volume on the Volumes page

Detached volumes will have an Attach to a Droplet link in the Droplet column. Click the link to attach it to a Droplet. Search and select the Droplet you want to connect to. Note that Droplets in other regions are visible but are grayed out and cannot be selected. Droplets in the same region as the volume are darker and you can choose one of them to attach to.

Once you’ve attached the volume to a new Droplet, you will need to mount it again. You can revisit the Config instructions in the volume’s More menu and follow the mount directions there.

Formatting an existing volume again will destroy all of its data. You do not need to reformat the volume; you only need to re-mount it to the new Droplet if you want its data to persist.