Help & knowledgebase

Find answers to commonly asked questions here.

Pricing & Billing - General

How am I billed?

You are billed hourly for each droplet until it reaches its monthly cap. You can choose to fund your account via PayPal or you can pay your monthly bill via credit card. Invoices are due on the 1st day of each month for the previous month's usage.

How do I choose between monthly and hourly billing?

You don't have to choose between hourly and monthly billing. You will be billed hourly for each Droplet until it reaches its monthly cap, e.g. $10/month for a 2 GB Droplet. The monthly cap equals the hourly rate for running the Droplet continuously for 28 days (672 hours). Calculating the cap this way allows you to be certain of the maximum amount you'll pay each month without needing to account for differences in the length of the month.

Am I charged while my Droplet is in a powered-off state?

Yes. Your disk space, CPU, RAM, and IP address are all reserved while your Droplet is powered off. If you want to save a Droplet for future use take a snapshot of it and then destroy it. You'll be able to create a new Droplet from the snapshot image anytime to bring it back online. Snapshots are billed at $.05/GB/mo, so a 40GB snapshot costs $2/month.

Do I have to pay the cost of the server every time I create a new one?

No — you only need to pay for 1 hour of usage. Spinning up a new 1 GB server just to test something for a couple of minutes will only cost you $0.01, the hourly rate of $0.00744 rounded to the nearest cent.

When do you charge my credit card?

We charge your credit card on the 1st day of each month for the previous month's usage. Time zone differences can cause some minor variation in invoice date/time.

Why do I see a pending charge on my credit card after adding it to my account?

When you add a credit card to your DigitalOcean account, we may send a pre-authorization request to the issuing bank to verify that the card being added has been issued by the bank and that they will authorize the charges. While you may see a $1.00 charge, this is only a temporary authorization hold, and no funds are being transferred from your card or account to DigitalOcean. The hold will be released by your bank within a few weeks, and in many cases much sooner.

Can I pay in advance?

Currently, we only accept pre-payment via PayPal. When you use a credit card or debit card, we charge on the 1st of the month for the previous month's invoice.

Can I be billed using my local currency?

DigitalOcean will continue to bill in USD. This allows our pricing to remain stable and consistent, rather than fluctuating with exchange rates. We do apologize if this causes an inconvenience.

Am I able to receive my invoices in my local currency?

Due to fluctuating exchange rates, we do not invoice in local currency. All invoices are billing in USD.

Why am I being charged a tax?

We charge tax in jurisdictions where we are required by law to do so. For more information on jurisdictions currently taxable, please see the Tax Help sections of this Pricing & Billing FAQ.

What is an outstanding balance?

Balances are considered outstanding if a payment fails to process on the 1st of the month or if the value you have loaded via PayPal is not enough to pay the invoice in full. If you receive a 'Server Termination Urgent' notice, you will need to contact DigitalOcean Support to remove the lock on your account to pay the outstanding balance. If we don't hear from you within 14 days from when your account was suspended, your Droplets will be purged and data will not be available for recovery.

If you have any questions about an outstanding balance, how to add a payment option, or about billing in general, please feel free to contact DigitalOcean Support.

How do I read my invoice?

Invoices are issued on the first calendar day of every month and detail charges you accrued in the previous month: what Droplets you have run, their size, for how long, and their cost. Invoices do not include payments you may have made (via PayPal or a credit card) and do not serve as receipts for any such payments. You can customize the information displayed on an invoice—for example, your business contact information or DigitalOcean's VAT identification number—by going to the Settings Page and filling out the 'Contact Information' after clicking 'Edit Profile' section accordingly. The name, email address, company name, company address, and phone number fields are included on an invoice, and changes to this information take effect immediately on any invoices viewed thereafter.

How much do Floating IPs cost?

Floating IPs are free to use. However, due to the shortage of IPv4 addresses available, we charge $0.006 per hour for addresses that have been reserved but not assigned to a Droplet. In order to keep things simple, you will not be charged unless you accrue $1 or more.

How does Load Balancer impacts my transfer costs?

Load Balancers are 'bandwidth neutral', which means by themselves they don't change the amount of data transferred by Droplets. Bandwidth costs would be calculated as usual based on the data transfer of the Droplets on the backend of the Load Balancer, taking into consideration their own transfer limits, as if the Load Balancer didn't exist.

How much does Spaces cost?

Spaces costs $5/month and includes 250 GB storage and 1 TB transfer out, shared between all your Spaces. If you use more than that, the additional storage costs just $0.02/GB/month and the additional transfer costs $0.01/GB. Transfer in (uploads to Spaces) is free, and transfer between our NYC regions is also free. Like Droplets, billing for your Spaces plan automatically starts and stops when you create your first Space and when you remove your last Space.

Is there a free trial available for Spaces? How does it work?

Yes! Customers automatically receive a 60-day free trial when clicking the "Get Started" button on the Spaces page in the control panel. This free trial covers the plan price ($5) but not any overages you might accrue. You can cancel a plan and start it again later but the 60 days will still count down from that date you first created a Space. Each account is limited to one free trial.

The $5/month plan includes 250 GB storage and 1 TB egress transfer shared between any Spaces you create. If you use more than either of those amounts, the additional storage costs $0.02/GB/month and the additional transfer costs $0.01/GB.

Last, each account is limited to one free trial, and you can cancel a trial by deleting all your Spaces.

How can I tell how much storage or transfer I'm using for Spaces?

To check how much storage you're using, go to the Spaces page in the control panel for a list of your Spaces, how many items are in each Space, and how much storage each Space is taking up. Transfer usage isn't shown on this same page yet but we're exploring ways to add that in the future.

If you're using more storage or more transfer than what's included in a plan, the additional charges will be visible on your monthly invoice. To avoid any surprises, you can set up an alert on the Billing page to receive an email any time your monthly usage (across all products, not just Spaces) exceeds an amount you set.

How do I cancel my Spaces plan or free trial?

Go to the Spaces page in the control panel and delete all your Spaces. The plan will automatically stop when you delete your last Space.

Do you offer refunds?

No, we do not offer refunds. If there are extenuating circumstances, please open up a ticket with our support team. Keep in mind that because we offer hourly billing, you can always destroy your server and only pay for what you've used.