accounts
By:
accounts

Am I billed for hours when my droplet is "Off"

August 18, 2013 2.3k views
Am I billed for hours when my droplet is "Off" or do I have to destroy the droplet before I am not billed for it?
1 comment
  • Yes. Your diskspace, CPU, RAM, and IP address are all reserved while your droplet is powered off. If you want to save a droplet for future use take a snapshot of it and then destroy it. You'll be able to create a new droplet from the snapshot image anytime to bring it back online.

9 Answers
Yes. Your diskspace, CPU, RAM, and IP address are all reserved while your Droplet is powered off. If you want to save a Droplet for future use take a snapshot of it and then destroy it. You'll be able to create a new Droplet from the snapshot image anytime to bring it back online.
Thanks! :) But am I charged when it is turned off.
Yes, you are charged when it is turned off.
So when a droplet is destroyed and I only have snapshot of it, I don't get charged for the space the snapshot is using?
@leak.my.brain: Snapshots cost $0.02/GB/mo
@Kamal: I was unable to find any documentation of Snapshot costs. If I have a snapshot of a running droplet, is the Snapshot cost in addition to the cost of the running droplet?
@Jeremy: Yes, snapshots cost an extra $0.02/GB/mo per snapshot.
if I destroy a droplet and create new am I charged for both..or the second one is taken in continuation of first one
@mpal_singh: Droplets are billed hourly. You will be charged for the time the first droplet has existed and the new one as well.
Have another answer? Share your knowledge.