How to delete a droplet's backup?

October 8, 2014 1.4k views

Is it possible to delete a backup using the control panel?

I created a droplet, with backups enabled, then, a few minutes later deleted it. This triggered the making of a backup before the droplet was deleted. Now I have a backup, with no corresponding droplet. The only option for managing the backup appears to be an option to convert it to a snapshot. I did that, and the backup disappeared. But it reappeared soon after I deleted the snapshot.

Thank you.

2 Answers

When you destroy a droplet, if you do not select the option to scrub data a final backup image is created. This image will automatically be deleted after 48 hours. It is just provided as an emergency "undo" should you delete a droplet in error.

Usually Converting them to images then clicking on the delete button does the job.
This must be an anomaly. try opening a ticket.

Have another answer? Share your knowledge.