Question

Replace droplet

  • Posted on February 14, 2022
  • pwcwalterAsked by pwcwalter

I have only one droplet in my account which I want to destroy and replace with a new droplet. What happens to the money for the old droplet? Does it automatically transfer to the new droplet?


Submit an answer

This textbox defaults to using Markdown to format your answer.

You can type !ref in this text area to quickly search our full set of tutorials, documentation & marketplace offerings and insert the link!

Sign In or Sign Up to Answer

These answers are provided by our Community. If you find them useful, show some love by clicking the heart. If you run into issues leave a comment, or add your own answer to help others.

Want to learn more? Join the DigitalOcean Community!

Join our DigitalOcean community of over a million developers for free! Get help and share knowledge in Q&A, subscribe to topics of interest, and get courses and tools that will help you grow as a developer and scale your project or business.

Hi @pwcwalter,

No, it doesn’t. What happens is some usage has been accumulated over the beginning of the month until now, once you destroy the droplet, there won’t be anything else charge for this droplet however creating new droplet will start to increase the usage again.

I’ll recommend giving the following docs a read:

https://docs.digitalocean.com/products/billing/