Why interface not offering users to save money.

October 7, 2013 2.1k views
Imagine two use cases. Use case 1: I started minimal droplet at $5 and ran it till mid of the month then I resized it to $80, used for 1 hour and turned it off. So my total monthly bill is: $2.5 + $40. Use case 2: I started minimal droplet at $5 and ran it till mid of the month then I resized it to $80, used for 1 hour and turned it off. After turning off I immediately resized it to $5 again. My total bill would be something very close to: $5 The only difference is one action taken from user side (additional resize). Why DigitalOcean cannot offer user to do this action if let say server if off for couple days. It's $40-$80 additional dollars but does it worth client?
5 Answers
You're paying for resources reserved to you at any instant. The difference between your two use cases is that in the first one, DigitalOcean has to keep $80 worth of resources reserved to JUST you in case you try to use your box.

And as you may be aware, DigitalOcean has apparently more than one customer.
Have you ever rented a car? You're going to get charged the entire time that you have the vehicle; even if you're not driving it (in the U.S., at least).
Okay, so you only gotta pay $20 monthly for a 512MB RAM server from now on... do note when you get annoyed with the $20 a month. Jokes. But, DigitalOcean rent out virtual servers, so $5 a month is great for users because it's cheap(and it's a sexy fast vps plan too) and it's great for DigitalOcean because it will make people not want to leave for a higher priced place, unless they're moving to dedicated servers etc. So boom! They have their money and profit! :) G'day! :D
And, if you were to upgrade then downgrade, you'd still pay for the whole time you had it. It all adds up. :)
Powered-off droplets are still charged. Your droplet's disk, RAM, and IP address are all reserved while the droplet is off. If you would like to save a droplet for future use, take a snapshot of it and then destroy it. You will be able to create a new droplet from the snapshot image anytime to bring it back online.
Have another answer? Share your knowledge.