Blog

Easily Transfer Snapshots Between Accounts

Snapshot transfer

Under the images tab in the control panel, users can now send their snapshots to another DigitalOcean customer with a click of the mouse. Simply select the 'transfer snapshot' icon and enter the email address of the recipient. Upon clicking the transfer button, the sender will notice the icon turn blue, indicating that the snapshot is mid-transfer. When the user on the receiving end accepts, the sender will no longer have access to the image.

Image Transfer

As the receiver, you will have a new section on the Images page titled Pending Snapshot Transfer Requests. Here you'll be able to accept or decline the transfer request. If approved, the snapshot will disappear from the original user's account, as well as be added to your list of Snapshots where you'll have full control over the image.

Image Transfer

This is one of many exciting rollouts to celebrate the coming of Spring :)

Just a heads up: as transferring a snapshot maintains all of the original snapshot’s settings, there may be configuration that allows the sender to potentially later access droplets created from the image. Make sure you trust anyone who gives you an image.