Can you UNDO a restored snapshot? Please Help!

January 14, 2015 955 views

Hello. I made a huge mistake this morning and thought I needed to go back to a restore point (snapshot) on my droplet. Turns out, there were really important things that had been uploaded/changed/etc AFTER the snapshot was made. Things that are more important than the reason for doing the restore in the first place. Doh!

I am in dire straights (not the band, that'd be weird) and am praying that there is some way to UNDO a restore, without a more recent snapshot. Is there any way??

With Much Hope but an Overwhelming Feeling Of Dread,


2 Answers

Unless you took a snapshot of your droplet before the restore, I don't see how that could be possible.

However, deleted droplets are saved for a little bit, so if you deleted your droplet and restored a new one, the image for the deleted one could be there.

If you reimaged an existing droplet, I suspect your data is lost.

sad to report it appears you will be unable to restore, as you currently only have that one snapshot on your account

Have another answer? Share your knowledge.