How to disable power on after snapshot?

April 22, 2015 760 views
Backups DigitalOcean Debian

I want to transfer my Droplet to another region. For that I need a snapshot. But after I power down my server and take a snapshot, it's automatically powered on again. I want it to stay powered off after the snapshot so that I can create a new Droplet in another region and start that Droplet instead. How do I do that? I can't find any setting to disable this automatic power on behavior.

2 Answers

There's no way of stopping this currently, all you can do is when it's completed then either connect to the droplet and poweroff (Recommended) or force shutting it down on the control panel.

That's no good. When the Droplet is powered up af the snapshot, it makes changes (e.g. a mail could be delivered), and I'll loose those changes when restoring from the old image. So I guess I'm stuck in NYC until this behavior is changed. Please implement this option - or even better - just don't power up a Droplet automatically after making a snapshot if the Droplet was not powered up in the first place.

Have another answer? Share your knowledge.