No-Charge Droplet Archiving

August 28, 2013 2.7k views
I have a droplet that I'm not regularly using, but I don't want to dispose of it entirely. Is it possible to archive it and keep the image around at a lower cost than keeping the droplet active?
1 Answer
Take a snapshot & then destroy your droplet. Another option is to use Duplicity to create an off-site backup.
by Etel Sverdlov
This tutorial provides an explanation for how backup and snapshots work on DigitalOcean. Additionally, it includes information on how to scale, backup, and clone out servers with snapshots.
  • When I go to destroy a droplet I get a message saying:

    'This is irreversible. We will destroy your droplet and all associated backups.'

    Can I please confirm this won't destroy my snapshot as well?

    Also, what does the 'Scrub Data' checkbox do?

    • Destroying a droplet will not destroy any snapshots, only automatic backups.

      The "Scrub Data" option makes sure that your droplet's disk is securely erased. If it's checked, it will overwrite your whole disk with 0's to ensure that the next droplet will not have any way to try and reconstruct data from it.

Have another answer? Share your knowledge.