Question

refund on old droplet and create new droplet at same time

i have created a new droplet on digital ocean

i already have an EXISTING DROPLET

when i destroy the old droplet will i get a refund on the OLD droplet


Submit an answer

This textbox defaults to using Markdown to format your answer.

You can type !ref in this text area to quickly search our full set of tutorials, documentation & marketplace offerings and insert the link!

Sign In or Sign Up to Answer

These answers are provided by our Community. If you find them useful, show some love by clicking the heart. If you run into issues leave a comment, or add your own answer to help others.

Want to learn more? Join the DigitalOcean Community!

Join our DigitalOcean community of over a million developers for free! Get help and share knowledge in Q&A, subscribe to topics of interest, and get courses and tools that will help you grow as a developer and scale your project or business.

Hello,

DigitalOcean charges by the hour for all Droplets. The cost per hour is dependent on the hardware tier you select when creating a droplet and whether you decide to add the backup option enabled. Also please note that at minimum $0.01 is charged even if you use the lowest tier for even a minute as that’s the lowest that can be billed for. However, DigitalOcean sets a cap on expenses for each tier.

For example, if you had a droplet with the lowest tier, it charges $0.007 per hour. However, the cap for that tier is $5 a month. You can not be charged more than that for that single droplet.

So if you had a $5 Droplet and you’ve used your old Droplet for 10 hours and then destroy it, you will be charged only for those 10 hours: 10 hours * $0.007 per hour = total of $0.07.

As you are not paying up front for the whole month, you will not get a refund, but instead, you will pay for only what you’ve used.

Hope that this helps.

Best, Bobby