Question

Turning off a droplet

I have a droplet in use now. I want to create a high end cpu optimised droplet and use it occasionally. I wanted to ask will be i billed on additional droplet if i stop that using the ‘turn-off’ button.

Subscribe
Share

Submit an answer
You can type!ref in this text area to quickly search our full set of tutorials, documentation & marketplace offerings and insert the link!

These answers are provided by our Community. If you find them useful, show some love by clicking the heart. If you run into issues leave a comment, or add your own answer to help others.

Hello there,

When you power off your droplet it is simply powered off. Your disk space and data is still there and is preserved.

Keep in mind that you are still billed for droplets that are powered off because your disk space, CPU, RAM, and IP address are all reserved while it is powered off. If you want to save a Droplet for future use take a snapshot of it and then destroy it. You’ll be able to create a new Droplet from the snapshot image anytime to bring it back online.

Hope that this helps! Regards, Alex