Question

Can I use my backup after I destroy droplet ?

Can I use my backup after I destroy droplet ? I need to know if I destroy will my backup delete too ?

thank you


Submit an answer

This textbox defaults to using Markdown to format your answer.

You can type !ref in this text area to quickly search our full set of tutorials, documentation & marketplace offerings and insert the link!

Sign In or Sign Up to Answer

These answers are provided by our Community. If you find them useful, show some love by clicking the heart. If you run into issues leave a comment, or add your own answer to help others.

Pinned Answer

Hi @afumagic3,

Destroying a droplet does not remove it’s snapshots unless specifically set to. Basically, you can delete your droplet without any worries of your snapshots disappearing.

Having said that, please note that after you delete the droplet, the only way to get to the snapshot would be from the Images tab on your left side of the screen.

Regards, KFSys

Want to learn more? Join the DigitalOcean Community!

Join our DigitalOcean community of over a million developers for free! Get help and share knowledge in Q&A, subscribe to topics of interest, and get courses and tools that will help you grow as a developer and scale your project or business.

Hello,

Once the Droplet is destroyed, all the data on it will be purged and deleted from our platform. Really sorry for the issue. We absolutely will not have any copy of your information or data with us. You can enable Snapshots going forward and this could help you in these kind of cases.

Backups are always associated with the Droplet, the moment you destroy the Droplet, backups will also be removed and purged. Snapshots work opposite, they will still be on your account even after the Droplet is removed.

Refer to below links:

https://www.digitalocean.com/docs/images/snapshots/ https://www.digitalocean.com/docs/images/snapshots/how-to/

Please let us know if you have any additional questions!

Regards, Sri Charan Madhavapeddi