Question

Does DigitalOcean preserve snapshots of deleted droplets?

If I create a snapshot from a given instance and delete the instance, will the snapshot still be available in the Images section of my DigitalOcean account?


Submit an answer

This textbox defaults to using Markdown to format your answer.

You can type !ref in this text area to quickly search our full set of tutorials, documentation & marketplace offerings and insert the link!

Sign In or Sign Up to Answer

These answers are provided by our Community. If you find them useful, show some love by clicking the heart. If you run into issues leave a comment, or add your own answer to help others.

Want to learn more? Join the DigitalOcean Community!

Join our DigitalOcean community of over a million developers for free! Get help and share knowledge in Q&A, subscribe to topics of interest, and get courses and tools that will help you grow as a developer and scale your project or business.

Hello all,

Yes, DigitalOcean does have snapshots of deleted Droplets but for a very short time. It also keeps some rare backups of your Droplets from time to time even if you don’t have ones.

This comment has been deleted

Yes, however, backups will be destroyed shortly after the droplet is destroyed.