Question

Does snapshots gets deleted when a droplet is destroyed?

Posted February 13, 2021 126 views
DigitalOceanBackups

I tool a snapshot of a droplet and then wanted to destroy the droplet, which I did. But now I can’t find the snapshot which I took of that droplet.

These answers are provided by our Community. If you find them useful, show some love by clicking the heart. If you run into issues leave a comment, or add your own answer to help others.

×
Submit an Answer
1 answer

Hello, @Vyom

Destroying a droplet does not remove its snapshots unless specifically set to. Basically, you can delete your droplet without any worries about your snapshots disappearing.

Snapshots remain in your account until you manually delete them. To delete a snapshot from your account, in the control panel, click Images in the main navigation, then click Snapshots to view all snapshots in your account.

After you delete the droplet, the only way to get to the snapshot would be from the Images tab on your left side of the screen.

Now, if you want to delete a snapshot, you can go to your Images tab and click more on the snapshot, there you’ll see a Destroy button for it.

Regards,
Alex