Question

How do I protect a droplet from accidental deletion?

I have one main production droplet, and also create short-lived droplets for testing and development. I’m always very paranoid that I’ll accidentally brain-fart and delete my production droplet, causing Bad Problems For My Business. Yes, we have backups, but I sure don’t need a few hours of downtime while I get things spun up and working again.

Is there any way to mark a droplet as permanent, so I need to do some kind of extra step before blowing it away?

Even if I needed to power off a droplet before deleting, that would help, as our network monitoring systems would raise hell as soon as I did that, and hopefully I would notice before doing the irreversible delete operation.

Show comments

Submit an answer

This textbox defaults to using Markdown to format your answer.

You can type !ref in this text area to quickly search our full set of tutorials, documentation & marketplace offerings and insert the link!

Sign In or Sign Up to Answer

These answers are provided by our Community. If you find them useful, show some love by clicking the heart. If you run into issues leave a comment, or add your own answer to help others.

Want to learn more? Join the DigitalOcean Community!

Join our DigitalOcean community of over a million developers for free! Get help and share knowledge in Q&A, subscribe to topics of interest, and get courses and tools that will help you grow as a developer and scale your project or business.

Hi! This is not possible currently. Please vote for it on our UserVoice suggestions board here:

You will also receive email notifications on any updates once you vote on a suggestion.