Question

How long do backups last after disabling them?

How long do backups last after disabling them on the server?


Submit an answer

This textbox defaults to using Markdown to format your answer.

You can type !ref in this text area to quickly search our full set of tutorials, documentation & marketplace offerings and insert the link!

Sign In or Sign Up to Answer

These answers are provided by our Community. If you find them useful, show some love by clicking the heart. If you run into issues leave a comment, or add your own answer to help others.

Want to learn more? Join the DigitalOcean Community!

Join our DigitalOcean community of over a million developers for free! Get help and share knowledge in Q&A, subscribe to topics of interest, and get courses and tools that will help you grow as a developer and scale your project or business.

Once you disable the backup service you are no longer paying for storage for your backup images. I would not rely on them remaining available for any length of time.

There is a way around this however. You can select a backup image in the control panel and convert it into a snapshot before disabling the backup service. While backup images will be deleted your snapshot will remain on your account.