Question

If I Deactivate My Account and Purge My Data, Can I Sign Up Again with that Same Email?

As the title says, I want to know if I can sign up for an account with the same email I used in an account I deactivated and purged the data of. I previously was looking for a way to remove the main credit card even if it means tenporarily deactivating the account. I realized deactivating is close to what I was looking for. But if I purge my data and deactivate, would I be able to create a new account with the same email I used for that purged account?


Submit an answer

This textbox defaults to using Markdown to format your answer.

You can type !ref in this text area to quickly search our full set of tutorials, documentation & marketplace offerings and insert the link!

Sign In or Sign Up to Answer

These answers are provided by our Community. If you find them useful, show some love by clicking the heart. If you run into issues leave a comment, or add your own answer to help others.

Want to learn more? Join the DigitalOcean Community!

Join our DigitalOcean community of over a million developers for free! Get help and share knowledge in Q&A, subscribe to topics of interest, and get courses and tools that will help you grow as a developer and scale your project or business.

Hello, @xshaunb56x

You can use the same email to open a new account after you’ve deactivated the old one. You can also reach to our support team if you find any difficulties along the process.

I believe a similar question was asked before in the community:

https://www.digitalocean.com/community/questions/deactivate-account

"You are given the option to not purge account data-name, address, company info, CC, PayPal, etc.

…as long as you choose no to the following question:

Would you like to purge all account data when you deactivate?

As long as you choose no to the above, you will be able to reactivate the account at a time of your choosing and shouldn’t need to go through any verification that you may have already gone through.

If you choose yes to the above question, the account will be fully purged and can not be reactivated.

You’d need to set up a new account and go through the steps required to activate it as normal"

Make sure to check our tutorial on How to Deactivate Accounts and Purge Account Data

https://docs.digitalocean.com/products/accounts/deactivate/

Regards, Alex