Question

When a droplet is stopped, does it incur only the storage cost or vm cost too?

When a droplet is stopped, does it incur only the storage cost or vm cost too? It’s not clearly mentioned anywhere.

Thanks.


Submit an answer

This textbox defaults to using Markdown to format your answer.

You can type !ref in this text area to quickly search our full set of tutorials, documentation & marketplace offerings and insert the link!

Sign In or Sign Up to Answer

These answers are provided by our Community. If you find them useful, show some love by clicking the heart. If you run into issues leave a comment, or add your own answer to help others.

Accepted Answer

Hi there,

Indeed you will still be billed for a turned off Droplet.

When you try to power off a Droplet via the Control Panel, you would get the following warning:

When a Droplet is off:

Its data and IP address are retained and its disk, CPU and RAM are reserved. You continue to accrue its data transfer allowance.

Warning: You will still be billed for a turned off Droplet. To end billing, destroy the Droplet instead.

What you can do is take a snapshot of your Droplet and then delete the Droplet itself. That way later on when you need that Droplet again, you can restore it from the snapshot.

Hope that this helps!

Best,

Bobby

Hello there, @mgn

When you power off your droplet it is simply powered off. Your disk space and data are still there and are preserved.

Keep in mind that you are still billed for droplets that are powered off because your disk space, CPU, RAM, and IP address are all reserved while it is powered off.

If you want to save a Droplet for future use take a snapshot of it and then destroy the droplet. You’ll be able to create a new Droplet from the snapshot image anytime to bring it back online but you would lose the IP address and get a new one. The snapshots cost $0.05 per GB per month.

Hope that this helps!