DigitalOcean Datacenter Tier and Data Pipe Levels

  • Posted December 29, 2013


How are you today? I hope you are enjoying these hollidays!

I would like to know something about your Tier,

I had to read about Datacenter Tiers and Data Pipes, and Tier 1 is the slowest Datacenter Tier Certification,

Tier 1 = Non-redundant capacity components (single uplink and servers). Tier 2 = Tier 1 + Redundant capacity components. Tier 3 = Tier 1 + Tier 2 + Dual-powered equipments and multiple uplinks. Tier 4 = Tier 1 + Tier 2 + Tier 3 + all components are fully fault-tolerant including uplinks, storage, chillers, HVAC systems, servers etc. Everything is dual-powered. Data Center Availability According To Tiers

The levels also describes the availability of data from the hardware at a location as follows:

Tier 1: Guaranteeing 99.671% availability. Tier 2: Guaranteeing 99.741% availability. Tier 3: Guaranteeing 99.982% availability. Tier 4: Guaranteeing 99.995% availability.

My question is: Which level are your Cloud Servers and Data Pipes of each plans?



Submit an answer
You can type!ref in this text area to quickly search our full set of tutorials, documentation & marketplace offerings and insert the link!

These answers are provided by our Community. If you find them useful, show some love by clicking the heart. If you run into issues leave a comment, or add your own answer to help others.

We only use Tier 4 certified datacenters to put our hardware in. They are actually certified and audited to meet that standard.

Check out DigitalOcean’s <a href=“”>FAQs</a>.