Question

Scrub Data, Destroying droplet

i want to destroy my droplet, but i want to rebuild it, in two weeks from a snapshot, i have to destroy with “Scrub Data” enabled? or not, i’ll want to recover alll the files of my server, when im going to rebuild it.

tnx


Submit an answer

This textbox defaults to using Markdown to format your answer.

You can type !ref in this text area to quickly search our full set of tutorials, documentation & marketplace offerings and insert the link!

Sign In or Sign Up to Answer

These answers are provided by our Community. If you find them useful, show some love by clicking the heart. If you run into issues leave a comment, or add your own answer to help others.

If you’ve taken a snapshot, you will be able to recover all your files when you restore the droplet. The snapshot is stored separately.

The “Scrub Data” option is a security precaution. What it does is over write the part of the disk that your droplet previously existed on with 0s to ensure that the next droplet will not have any way to try and reconstruct data from it.

Never destroy a droplet without making sure “scrub data” is enabled, unless you really know what you’re doing. All the “scrub data” option does is makes it impossible for anyone else who creates a droplet to read your data, as droplets share the same hard drives. This has no impact on your snapshots at all.

I know this answer is late… but I still think it may as well be here.

Since these are SSD drives scrubbing the data with 0s is not going to fully delete the files.