Question

How to move only one droplet from my team account into my direct account?

Posted May 5, 2020 97 views
FAQ

Hi All
I have a direct account and one team account under that. There are a few droplets under the team account, out of which I want to move one droplet into my direct account. How do I do that?
Thanks in advance

These answers are provided by our Community. If you find them useful, show some love by clicking the heart. If you run into issues leave a comment, or add your own answer to help others.

×
1 answer

Hello, @ganeshpulsars

In order to move a droplet from a team or account to another account you will need to generate a snapshot and transfer it to the other account.

To transfer a Droplet to another DigitalOcean user or a team that you are a member of, you first need to take a snapshot of it.

Transfer a Snapshot

To transfer a snapshot, visit the Images tab in the main navigation and locate the snapshot you want to transfer. Open the snapshot’s More menu and select Change Owner.

In the Transfer to another user menu that opens, either select User and enter the user’s email address in the text field, or select Te****am and select a team account from the pull-down menu.

Once you choose the recipient, click Transfer Snapshot. The recipient of your snapshot does not receive an email or control panel notification about the transfer, so you should notify the user or team. It may be helpful to include a link directly to the next section, Receiving a Snapshot.

Once you initiate the transfer, the menu title changes to Snapshot Transfer Pending, and the options change to a single Cancel Transfer button.

The icon next to the snapshot continues to move even after the menu is closed. You can return to the Images page and open the snapshot’s More menu and choose Cancel Transfer any time before the recipient accepts it.

Once transfer of a snapshot is complete, you will no longer be billed for it.

Receiving a Snapshot

You do not receive an email or control panel notification if someone requests to transfer a snapshot to your account. The sender should notify you directly.

To respond to a snapshot transfer request, log in to the account to which the image was transferred and, if necessary, switch to the specific team. Then, in the main navigation click Images and visit the Snapshots tab. A Pending Transfer section appears.

Open the snapshot’s More menu to Decline or Accept the transfer.

When you accept the transfer, it appears in the Snapshots table. The More menu contains the same options that are available for snapshots you create yourself, including Create Droplet. After accepting a transfer, you may need to reload the page to see it.

The original owner of the snapshot does not receive notification of your decision. If you accept the transfer, the snapshot silently disappears from their account. You may want to let them know once you’ve accepted or rejected.

You can find more information about the process via this link: https://www.digitalocean.com/docs/images/snapshots/how-to/change-owners/

Hope this helps!

Regards,
Alex

Submit an Answer