Question

Am I charged even when my account is suspended?

I set up a small VPS to test things out and forgot about it, today I received emails from my bank about my account not being able to be charged (not enough balance, I don’t keep my money in my VISA card). Now I cannot remove destroy droplets or remove my card at all!

I want to ask if my account is suspended and my droplets deleted then after I put money in it, will DigitalOcean charge me?

Subscribe
Share

Submit an answer
You can type!ref in this text area to quickly search our full set of tutorials, documentation & marketplace offerings and insert the link!

These answers are provided by our Community. If you find them useful, show some love by clicking the heart. If you run into issues leave a comment, or add your own answer to help others.

I believe you are charged to some degree when suspended, as your droplets are still allocated resources (even if the Droplets are powered off). As I understand it, DO will destroy all services in your account after a certain amount of time has passed without payment.

So theoretically there is a point where you are no longer charged for the droplets. For the sake of a few dollars, you are better off paying what you owe and getting on with your life (rather than always wondering if this will come back and bite you).

Hello there,

In addition to what has already been mentioned, you can take a snapshot of your Droplet before deleting it as described in the docs:

https://docs.digitalocean.com/products/images/snapshots/

You’ll be able to create a new Droplet from the snapshot image anytime to bring it back online but you would lose the IP address and get a new one. The snapshots cost $0.05 per GB per month.

Regards

Hello,

When you power off your droplet it is simply powered off. Your disk space and data is still there and is preserved.

Keep in mind that you are still billed for droplets that are powered off because your disk space, CPU, RAM, and IP address are all reserved while it is powered off. If you want to save a Droplet for future use take a snapshot of it and then destroy it. You’ll be able to create a new Droplet from the snapshot image anytime to bring it back online.

For additional information about DigitalOcean Billing you can also check our docs here:

https://www.digitalocean.com/docs/billing/

Hope that this helps! Regards, Alex