Question

are backups consumed when used?

i see snapshots are consumed when we restore, but its the same case for backups? do they consume/disappear when reverting or creating a new droplet from them?


Submit an answer


This textbox defaults to using Markdown to format your answer.

You can type !ref in this text area to quickly search our full set of tutorials, documentation & marketplace offerings and insert the link!

Sign In or Sign Up to Answer

These answers are provided by our Community. If you find them useful, show some love by clicking the heart. If you run into issues leave a comment, or add your own answer to help others.

Bobby Iliev
Site Moderator
Site Moderator badge
September 1, 2023

Hi there,

Neither snapshots nor backups should disappear when you use them.

They both will remain available for further use or until they’re manually deleted (in the case of snapshots) or until they expire (in the case of backups).

For more information I could also suggest checking out the documentation page here:

https://docs.digitalocean.com/products/images/snapshots/how-to/create-and-restore-droplets/

Let me know if you have any questions!

Best,

Bobby

KFSys
Site Moderator
Site Moderator badge
August 31, 2023

Heya,

Both shouldn’t and are not consumed when used. This means you can used them more than once.

Try DigitalOcean for free

Click below to sign up and get $200 of credit to try our products over 60 days!

Sign up

Get our biweekly newsletter

Sign up for Infrastructure as a Newsletter.

Hollie's Hub for Good

Working on improving health and education, reducing inequality, and spurring economic growth? We'd like to help.

Become a contributor

Get paid to write technical tutorials and select a tech-focused charity to receive a matching donation.

Welcome to the developer cloud

DigitalOcean makes it simple to launch in the cloud and scale up as you grow — whether you're running one virtual machine or ten thousand.

Learn more
DigitalOcean Cloud Control Panel