Question

[ASK] Delete droplet will delete snapshot too?

Hi,

If I destroy my droplet, will it delete snapshot too?

Subscribe
Share

Submit an answer
You can type!ref in this text area to quickly search our full set of tutorials, documentation & marketplace offerings and insert the link!

These answers are provided by our Community. If you find them useful, show some love by clicking the heart. If you run into issues leave a comment, or add your own answer to help others.

Accepted Answer

Hey there!

Snapshots are independent from Droplets. Once you’ve taken a Snapshot, it exists on its own and will not be destroyed if you destroy the Droplet. Keep in mind that if you want to use the Snapshot, you won’t be able to use the “Restore” option from the Snapshot menu, as there won’t be a Droplet to restore, and you can instead create a new Droplet, selecting the Snapshot at creation time.

Hope that helps! :)

The same way can I delete an snapshot previously restored without erase data in a Droplet, right?