charged for droplets off?? :/

June 11, 2015 1.2k views
Billing DigitalOcean

I just realized I am fully charged for the droplets turned off.

Can anyone confirm this is this normal, or is there an error with billing ?


4 Answers

yeah, I understand that's the rule of the service.. just saying that's a great commercial bs statement. So I'm paying the full instance price($40!), for 1 IP and a few Mo of cold storage.

"...for future use take a snapshot of it and then destroy it.." => that's my point.. why is this not the automatic shutdown behavior?? it kind of take out all the "easy/flexibility" out the service

anyway, destroyed my last droplets I was keeping off "just in case". already off to AWS !

  • That is not the default behavior because this process would also remove your IP address. If droplets were automatically snapshotted and destroyed every time they were powered off you would have a new IP address each time you did this requiring you to update your DNS records. If this is not a concern then snapshotting and destroying a droplet when not in use is the recommended method to stop billing while maintaining your files.

No error here. The resources are reserved for you so you're paying for it.

"reserved" ?? isn't this cloud computing...
well that's what i was afraid of. One would expect there is no charge for a server off (so basically not using any resources).

  • So you want them to wipe your disk and assign a new IP address each time you turn a droplet off?

As mentioned on the pricing page:

Am I charged while my Droplet is in a powered-off state?
Yes. Your diskspace, CPU, RAM, and IP address are all reserved while your Droplet is powered off. If you want to save a Droplet for future use take a snapshot of it and then destroy it. You'll be able to create a new Droplet from the snapshot image anytime to bring it back online.

Have another answer? Share your knowledge.