If you click on the Deactivate Account button, if not already removed, Droplets, Backups, Snapshots, Volumes, etc would be removed from the account once you click Deactivate Now (so it’s a two-step process to prevent accidental deletion).
The reason for this is because each of the services are billable and you would continue to be billed for them if the remained. We also wouldn’t be able to fully deactivate the account if they remained :).
You are given the option to not purge account data – name, address, company info, CC, PayPal, etc.
…as long as you choose no to the following question:
Would you like to purge all account data when you deactivate?
As long as you choose no to the above, you will be able to reactivate the account at a time of your choosing and shouldn’t need to go through any verification that you may have already went through.
If you choose yes to the above question, the account will be fully purged and can not be reactivated.
You’d need to setup a new account and go through the steps required to activate it as normal :-).
Let me know if that helps :-). If you have any specific questions, please let me know!