Droplet backup is not destroyed with server

February 13, 2013 3.6k views
I destroyed my server, however the backups still remain. This is contradicting what it says when destroying a server: "This is irreversible. We will destroy your droplet and all associated backups." Will the backup be deleted eventually, or is this a bug?
5 Answers
Backups remain for a temporary amount of time in case the user wants to recreate the server
I believe the backup's and screenshots are saved indefinitely in case the user wants to use them in the future.
Snapshots are saved indefinitely— backups, as ryan mentioned, are kept for a short time afterward in case the server destroy was a mistake.
In the Droplet control panel, under the "backups" tab, the text talks about "automatic snapshots". This gives the impression that "backups" and "snapshots" are the same thing. I think you should fix this because this is a potential source of confusion.

Another source of confusion is, when creating a new droplet, there is no option to "create from snapshot" - there is only an option to "create from image", i.e., the word "image" is used instead of "snapshot". Consistent terminology will make life easier for all of us :)
@erelsgl: An image can be either a snapshot or a backup, but the reverse is not true.

I hope that clears it up :]
Have another answer? Share your knowledge.