Question

How do I protect a droplet from accidental deletion?

I have one main production droplet, and also create short-lived droplets for testing and development. I’m always very paranoid that I’ll accidentally brain-fart and delete my production droplet, causing Bad Problems For My Business. Yes, we have backups, but I sure don’t need a few hours of downtime while I get things spun up and working again.

Is there any way to mark a droplet as permanent, so I need to do some kind of extra step before blowing it away?

Even if I needed to power off a droplet before deleting, that would help, as our network monitoring systems would raise hell as soon as I did that, and hopefully I would notice before doing the irreversible delete operation.

Subscribe
Share

+1

That’s not a possibility, but I always read the host name 5-6 times at a minimum before deleting for this same fear.


Submit an answer
You can type!ref in this text area to quickly search our full set of tutorials, documentation & marketplace offerings and insert the link!

These answers are provided by our Community. If you find them useful, show some love by clicking the heart. If you run into issues leave a comment, or add your own answer to help others.

Hi! This is not possible currently. Please vote for it on our UserVoice suggestions board here:

You will also receive email notifications on any updates once you vote on a suggestion.