Question

How do I remove a team? I didn't transfer droplets etc when I created my team. I want to now since it is the simple way to move droplets.

I created a team but did not transfer droplets, etc at time of creation. I’d like to do that now. I assume it is easier to remove the team and start over, but i cannot find this option.

Subscribe
Share

Submit an answer
You can type!ref in this text area to quickly search our full set of tutorials, documentation & marketplace offerings and insert the link!

These answers are provided by our Community. If you find them useful, show some love by clicking the heart. If you run into issues leave a comment, or add your own answer to help others.

Hey guys,

So I’m trying to delete my teams since they’re no longer active, but I keep getting a confusing “Base failed to delete images.” error. The teams have no droplets or images - what’s going on here?

Thanks!

You can deactivate a team with the following method:

1.) Switch from your personal view into the team by selecting it from the drop-down where your avatar is shown in the top right of the page.

2.) Select “Settings”

3.) Click the “Edit Team Profile” button

4.) Click on “Deactivate Team” at the bottom of the form.

Hello, @ganeshpulsars

In order to move a droplet from a team or account to another account, you will need to generate a snapshot and transfer it to the other account.

To transfer a Droplet to another DigitalOcean user or a team that you are a member of, you first need to take a snapshot of it.

Transfer a Snapshot

To transfer a snapshot, visit the Images tab in the main navigation and locate the snapshot you want to transfer. Open the snapshot’s More menu and select Change Owner.

In the Transfer to another user menu that opens, either select User and enter the user’s email address in the text field, or select Te****am and select a team account from the pull-down menu.

Once you choose the recipient, click Transfer Snapshot. The recipient of your snapshot does not receive an email or control panel notification about the transfer, so you should notify the user or team. It may be helpful to include a link directly to the next section, Receiving a Snapshot.

Once you initiate the transfer, the menu title changes to Snapshot Transfer Pending and the options change to a single Cancel Transfer button.

The icon next to the snapshot continues to move even after the menu is closed. You can return to the Images page and open the snapshot’s More menu and choose Cancel Transfer any time before the recipient accepts it.

Once the transfer of a snapshot is complete, you will no longer be billed for it.

Receiving a Snapshot

You do not receive an email or control panel notification if someone requests to transfer a snapshot to your account. The sender should notify you directly.

To respond to a snapshot transfer request, log in to the account to which the image was transferred and, if necessary, switch to the specific team. Then, in the main navigation click Images and visit the Snapshots tab. A Pending Transfer section appears.

Open the snapshot’s More menu to Decline or Accept the transfer.

When you accept the transfer, it appears in the Snapshots table. The More menu contains the same options that are available for snapshots you create yourself, including Create Droplet. After accepting a transfer, you may need to reload the page to see it.

The original owner of the snapshot does not receive notification of your decision. If you accept the transfer, the snapshot silently disappears from their account. You may want to let them know once you’ve accepted or rejected.

You can find more information about the process via this link: https://www.digitalocean.com/docs/images/snapshots/how-to/change-owners/

Hope this helps!

Hello, there

In order to deactivate a team, you first need to remove all resources associated with the team, like Droplets, Spaces, and domains. Team owners can deactivate an empty team to remove the team from the control panel.

Once the team has no resources, switch to the team in the control panel using the account drop-down in the top right. In the Account section of the main menu, click Team to go to the team page.

Click Edit Team Profile. In the Edit Team Profile window that opens, click Deactivate team.

Confirm the deletion by clicking Deactivate Team. Team owners receive an email confirmation that the team has been deactivated, and it no longer appears in the control panel. Once a team is deactivated, you can use the name again to create a new team.

The whole process is also documented here in this article:

https://www.digitalocean.com/docs/accounts/teams/how-to/deactivate/

Regards

I’ve deleted everything from my team, and I’ve checked each tab to ensure there’s nothing in my team. I’ve booted everyone from the team except for me, but I can’t deactivate the team. It keeps saying “Base failed to delete images”

I had the same issue and the response from support was the following “Sorry about that. It looks like due to a bug on our end, the backups for one of your Droplets weren’t deleted when the Droplet was. As a workaround, I’ve converted these to snapshots. This should allow you to see and delete them by navigating to Images > Snapshots > Droplets within your control panel. Please delete them and try again. Sorry again for the issue, and let us know if you continue to encounter issues after that.” That solution worked.

Same here! I would like to delete my team and the account.

How do I get the credit back that I’ve transferred to a team?