Question

How to delete a droplet's backup?

  • Posted October 8, 2014

Is it possible to delete a backup using the control panel?

I created a droplet, with backups enabled, then, a few minutes later deleted it. This triggered the making of a backup before the droplet was deleted. Now I have a backup, with no corresponding droplet. The only option for managing the backup appears to be an option to convert it to a snapshot. I did that, and the backup disappeared. But it reappeared soon after I deleted the snapshot.

Thank you.

Subscribe
Share

Submit an answer
You can type!ref in this text area to quickly search our full set of tutorials, documentation & marketplace offerings and insert the link!

These answers are provided by our Community. If you find them useful, show some love by clicking the heart. If you run into issues leave a comment, or add your own answer to help others.

Usually Converting them to images then clicking on the delete button does the job. This must be an anomaly. try opening a ticket.

When you destroy a droplet, if you do not select the option to scrub data a final backup image is created. This image will automatically be deleted after 48 hours. It is just provided as an emergency “undo” should you delete a droplet in error.