I got a droplet and chose the monthly payment option, but I want to destroy it after just a few days.

November 20, 2015 611 views
Billing DigitalOcean

Will I be charged the whole monthly price for using it for less than a week? Or will I be charged hourly for the time I've had it running (it's been about 4 days)?

thanks for the clarification :)

1 Answer


You're charged hourly up to a maximum of the monthly cost for each Droplet that you have deployed, whether it's on or off, up to the point the Droplet is destroyed. So 4 days, or 96 hours, would be billed to your account where the actual amount would be 96x the hourly cost of the Droplet (or the actual number of hours at the time you decide to destroy it).

The reason for this is because your Droplet still occupies system resources (i.e. CPU, RAM and SSD Disk Space), which cannot be assigned to another customer on that server so long as it's allocated to your account.

Have another answer? Share your knowledge.