Question

I signed up and paid for a droplet, but I then thought about the monthly payments. So how do they work?

Like I said in the title, I paid for a droplet after signing up but then thought about the payments. It’s almost the next month, so do I have to pay again the 1st of the next month leaving me with only a few days to use my droplet? Or it’s counted by number of days?

Thanks in advance


Submit an answer

This textbox defaults to using Markdown to format your answer.

You can type !ref in this text area to quickly search our full set of tutorials, documentation & marketplace offerings and insert the link!

Sign In or Sign Up to Answer

These answers are provided by our Community. If you find them useful, show some love by clicking the heart. If you run into issues leave a comment, or add your own answer to help others.

Its counted by hours. So for example if you create a $5/month ($0.007/hour) droplet for 3 hours then delete it you will only be charged for 3 hours of use which is $0.021. Also if you want to keep a droplet but are not using it at the moment take a snapshot and delete the droplet. A snapshot is basically a backup and much cheaper then keeping droplet. When you are ready to use it again goto the snapshot and create a droplet and you’ll get all your previous work back.

Want to learn more? Join the DigitalOcean Community!

Join our DigitalOcean community of over a million developers for free! Get help and share knowledge in Q&A, subscribe to topics of interest, and get courses and tools that will help you grow as a developer and scale your project or business.