Question

If I upgrade from a $10/month plan to a $20/month plan, would I have to reinstall everything or is the upgrade seamless?

Posted May 3, 2013 8.1k views

These answers are provided by our Community. If you find them useful, show some love by clicking the heart. If you run into issues leave a comment, or add your own answer to help others.

×
6 answers
Upgrading retains your droplet data and is a seamless process. However, please note that your disk space will *not* be changed.
Really? Your FAQ page states:

DigitalOcean allows on the fly scaling—a task that is much more difficult on a dedicated box. Changing the amount of RAM on a box can be done with a simple reboot, while expanding the disk size takes less than an hour. The same process can take hours or days with a dedicated setup.

@joseph That part of the FAQ page was written before we enabled Fast-Resizes and disabled Migrations. We'll get it corrected :]
Hello,

Out of curiosity was this issue corrected? This would be a determining factor to deciding to use your service.

Thanks.
@arun.g.rao: What issue? This isn't an issue - you can resize your droplet on the fly but disk space won't change. If you want to change your disk space you'll have to power off your droplet for a bit,
Ah I must have misunderstood what you meant by disabled migrations. Yeah powering off for a bit is no problem! You've got a new customer today :)
Submit an Answer