Question

If two DigitalOcean accounts have the same domain setup but with different DNS settings, how does DigitalOcean know which account to use?

I work for a company that manages about 10 other companies, one of those companies has decided to get their own development team so we are working on moving their resources to their own DigitalOcean account.

Eventually we are going to transfer that companies domains over to their own domain provider account as well and I’m wondering what will happen.

Both the current DigitalOcean account and the new one will have DNS configurations for these domains, and the actual name server settings for those domains won’t change (They will still be ns1.digitalocean.com, ect.). How will DigitalOcean know which accounts DNS settings to use?

I want to believe that by some magic it will just work, otherwise you could just take over other DigitalOcean users DNS settings, which would be a huge security hole.

Subscribe
Share

Submit an answer
You can type!ref in this text area to quickly search our full set of tutorials, documentation & marketplace offerings and insert the link!

These answers are provided by our Community. If you find them useful, show some love by clicking the heart. If you run into issues leave a comment, or add your own answer to help others.

Hello there,

The system performs a DNS lookup to see if the domain has already been added to DigitalOcean. If it has, you’ll receive a message that says Data domain example.com: Name already exists. If the domain has not been previously added to DigitalOcean’s DNS service, it will be added.

Hope that this helps!