Question

Is digitalocean destroy backups after restoring them?

Hi there, I just want to know if my backup will be destroyed after restoring?


Submit an answer

This textbox defaults to using Markdown to format your answer.

You can type !ref in this text area to quickly search our full set of tutorials, documentation & marketplace offerings and insert the link!

Sign In or Sign Up to Answer

These answers are provided by our Community. If you find them useful, show some love by clicking the heart. If you run into issues leave a comment, or add your own answer to help others.

Want to learn more? Join the DigitalOcean Community!

Join our DigitalOcean community of over a million developers for free! Get help and share knowledge in Q&A, subscribe to topics of interest, and get courses and tools that will help you grow as a developer and scale your project or business.

No. The most recent backup image is kept for any droplet with backups enabled. Using your backup image to restore your droplet does not cause it to be deleted. Destroying the droplet with the backup service will cause any associated backups to be destroyed. If you wish to keep a particular backup image you can convert it to a snapshot image which is never deleted unless you choose to delete it. You can learn more about backups and snapshots here.