mghayem
By:
mghayem

Is digitalocean destroy backups after restoring them?

December 14, 2016 561 views
Backups

Hi there,
I just want to know if my backup will be destroyed after restoring?

1 Answer

No. The most recent backup image is kept for any droplet with backups enabled. Using your backup image to restore your droplet does not cause it to be deleted. Destroying the droplet with the backup service will cause any associated backups to be destroyed. If you wish to keep a particular backup image you can convert it to a snapshot image which is never deleted unless you choose to delete it. You can learn more about backups and snapshots here.

by Etel Sverdlov
This tutorial provides an explanation for how backup and snapshots work on DigitalOcean. Additionally, it includes information on how to scale, backup, and clone out servers with snapshots.
Have another answer? Share your knowledge.