Question

Is my account closed yet?

I just checked and I was charged $144 for October, I haven’t used this service for months and I don’t have any droplets turned on. I’m not using any services so why am I being charged. Can you please tell me how to get this company to stop charging me for a service i’m not using.

Subscribe
Share

Submit an answer
You can type!ref in this text area to quickly search our full set of tutorials, documentation & marketplace offerings and insert the link!

These answers are provided by our Community. If you find them useful, show some love by clicking the heart. If you run into issues leave a comment, or add your own answer to help others.

Hey there!

It sounds like you may have only turned your droplets off. They are still charged in this state. They would need to be deleted from your account to stop billing. In our public community, we aim to answer open questions about anything SysAdmin, DigitalOcean and beyond. However, we make every attempt to keep personal information safe and so don’t ever access personal account information here.

I would recommend reaching out to our support team. They can help provide more details on your account and assist you further. DigitalOcean Support

Hope it helps! Nate

Hello there,

If you have any snapshots under your account this will generate an invoice since snapshots are charged at $0.05 GB per month for Droplets and $0.05 GiB per month for volumes. There is a minimum charge of $0.01, which may apply for very small snapshots or snapshots that exist only for a short time. Pricing is based on the size of the snapshot.

https://docs.digitalocean.com/products/images/snapshots/

Do you have any droplets that are simply powered off?

When you power off your droplet it is simply powered off. Your disk space and data are still there and are preserved.

Keep in mind that you are still billed for droplets that are powered off because your disk space, CPU, RAM, and IP address are all reserved while it is powered off. If you want to save a Droplet for future use take a snapshot of it and then destroy it. You’ll be able to create a new Droplet from the snapshot image anytime to bring it back online.

Hope that this helps!