Question

restore snapshot after destroying a droplet

  • Posted on October 7, 2012
  • minhurAsked by minhur

What is the correct process of using a droplet as a development enviornment?

Based on the documentation, I’ve read that I should create a snapshot, destroy the build so that billing wouldn’t occur. Once I’m ready to use it again I can create another droplet and recover my snapshot to the new droplet. However, this hasn’t been working for me.

When I attempted to create the droplet (same zone, same config) and went to the snapshot tab of the new droplet, my old snapshot wasn’t available even though it did show up in the Images tab (it stated that there are no snapshot available). Am I missing a step?


Submit an answer

This textbox defaults to using Markdown to format your answer.

You can type !ref in this text area to quickly search our full set of tutorials, documentation & marketplace offerings and insert the link!

Sign In or Sign Up to Answer

These answers are provided by our Community. If you find them useful, show some love by clicking the heart. If you run into issues leave a comment, or add your own answer to help others.

Hi,

If I destroy droplet, will the snapshot associated to that droplet still remains or it get destroyed as well?

Can you help me on that.

Thanks

@minhur thanks for linking to the relevant article!

my mistake, I should’ve noticed a tab under “Select Droplet Image” that allows me to recover from a snapshot directly. <br> <br>for anyone else interested, this was already answered in comment by etel: <br>https://www.digitalocean.com/community/articles/digitalocean-backups-and-snapshots-explained <br> <br>“You can restore a saved image by creating a new droplet from the chosen snapshot. <br>When creating a new droplet, clicking on the tab called “My Images” in the “Select a New Droplet Image” section will show you all of the snapshots that you can then spin up a droplet from.”