Question

What does the snapshot keep?

  • Posted on December 29, 2014
  • ampaAsked by ampa

I created a snapshot, destroyed the droplet, and remade a new one selecting the snapshot of the one I had just destroyed. When I ssh’d in nothing was kept, none of the users I created, script I had written or NFS mount configurations were there.

Was this some sort of bug? What do snapshots save if this is not a bug?

Show comments

Submit an answer

This textbox defaults to using Markdown to format your answer.

You can type !ref in this text area to quickly search our full set of tutorials, documentation & marketplace offerings and insert the link!

Sign In or Sign Up to Answer

These answers are provided by our Community. If you find them useful, show some love by clicking the heart. If you run into issues leave a comment, or add your own answer to help others.

Want to learn more? Join the DigitalOcean Community!

Join our DigitalOcean community of over a million developers for free! Get help and share knowledge in Q&A, subscribe to topics of interest, and get courses and tools that will help you grow as a developer and scale your project or business.

This question was answered by @ryanpq:

A snapshot image is a complete copy of your disk image. The only things that are not retained are any ssh keys or root passwords (as these are re-generated or re-inserted when you create a new droplet form the image). I would recommend opening a support ticket so they can take a look at your droplet’s create process and the snapshot you used.

View the original comment